BY:Sporty Boy

Cricket is a bat-and-ball game played between two teams of eleven players on a cricket field, at the centre of which is a rectangular 22-yard-long pitch with a wicket, a set of three wooden stumps sited at each end. Cricket was first played in the 16th century in south east England, it became he country’s national sport in the 18th century. Cricket is the second most popular game in sport history after soccer (football). The tournament of international cricket council (ICC) started June 15 1909. England, Australia and South Africa are the original members.

Players : 11 players per team includes Batsman, Baller, Wicket keeper, Fielders, and Runner. RUNS: if you hit the ball out of the boundary without it touching the ground it’s a “Six” ~ six runs. If you hit the ball out of boundary with a bounce it’s a “Four” ~ four runs. When the batsman & runner run between the wickets after hitting the ball its one or two or three depends how many times they run. If the fielder catch the ball without bounce the batsman is out. It’s a time for second person to play.

There are many teams like West Indies, India, Australia , England etc. World cup winners since 1975. Australia ( 5 times) India (2 times) West Indies ( 2 times) Pakistan & Sri Lanka (1 time) Grounds : Lord's Cricket Ground (London UK) , Eden Gardens (Kolkata, India) Sydney Cricket Ground (Australia). Know Players: Adam Gilchris, Steve Waugh (Australia), Chris Gayle (West indies), Sachin Tendulkar (India).